Wed, 18 March 2020

6:45 pm - 8:00 pm

On Troubled Minds – Insights from a Neuropsychiatrist

Anthony David In Conversation with Oliver Chittenden

VENUE

Society of Chemical Industry

15 Belgrave Square, London

SW1X 8PS

In light of the coronvavirus, events for April have been postponed and will be rescheduled. Tickets will be refunded in full.

Professor Anthony David has dedicated his life to the study of illnesses at the edge of human understanding.

We cannot know how to fix a problem until we understand its causes. But even for some of the most common mental health problems, three specialists might offer you three completely different treatments.

As a cognitive neuropsychiatrist, Professor Anthony David brings together many fields of study, from social and cognitive psychology to neurology. The key for each patient might be anything from a traumatic memory to a chemical imbalance, an unhealthy way of thinking or a hidden tumour.

Patrick believes he is dead; Jennifer’s schizophrenia medication seems to bring on the symptoms of Parkinson’s; Emma is in a coma – or is she just refusing to respond?

These are the fascinating case studies that have driven the most startling insights in Anthony’s forty-year career. He joins Oliver Chittenden, founder of Head Talks, to reveal what he has learned.

Fans of Henry Marsh, Oliver Sacks and Iain McGilchrist ought not to miss this conversation with one of the UK’s foremost experts on the science of mental health.

Praise for Anthony David:

‘A highly eloquent, fascinating and deeply compassionate book about the continuing mystery of mental illness and the cruel fallacy of seeing it as somehow less real and deserving than so-called physical illness.’ – Henry Marsh CBE

‘I was expecting this to make my brain hurt, but I was immediately hooked on it…A witty, humane and fascinating book.’ – Jo Brand

‘Few are better suited to tell the story of our mental lives than Anthony David. He has written a beautiful, intimate book of the stories he’s seen, one that probes at the nexus of the biological and societal…In his shoes, we get to step into the private realm of the psychiatrist’s office, and often into the lingering questions left in the psychiatrist’s mind.’ – David Eagleman

Useful Information

Venue Address

Society of Chemical Industry

15 Belgrave Square, London

SW1X 8PS

Event Times

Doors Open: 6:15pm

Event Starts: 6:45pm

Event Finishes: 8:00pm

Refund Policy

No refunds, no credit.

Accessibility

Not accessible for wheelchair users.

You May Also Like