Wed, 6 November 2019

6:45 pm - 8:00 pm

Nobel Laureate 2019 Esther Duflo – Better Answers to the Biggest Challenges Of Our Time

VENUE

Conway Hall

25 Red Lion Square

London, WC1R 4RL

View map

Immigration and inequality, slowing growth and climate change – these are sources of anxiety across the world. 2019 Nobel laureate Esther Duflo has bold new answers.

From Delhi to Dakar, Paris to DC, our shared economic problems are the defining challenges of our age. We have the resources to address these great challenges, but lack the bold ideas that will help us overcome the distrust that divides us. If we fail, the potential losses are incalculable. If we succeed, history will remember our era with gratitude.

Esther Duflo is here to make sure we that do. The recipient of the 2019 Nobel Prize in Economics, a MacArthur “Genius Grant” Fellowship, a professor at MIT and the winner of countless prizes for her highly influential book, Poor Economics, her work has earned her global renown as a thinker able to powerful solutions to the challenges of our age.

In this talk, she’ll build on cutting-edge research in economics to explain the real sources of our present troubles – and make a persuasive case for intelligent interventionism and a society built on compassion and respect. Fans of Rutger Bregman, Joseph Stiglitz and Amartya Sen ought not to miss this opportunity to hear a radical blueprint for a better future.

Praise for Esther Duflo:

‘Not all economists wear ties and think like bankers. In their wonderfully refreshing book, Banerjee and Duflo delve into impressive areas of new research questioning conventional views about issues ranging from trade to top income taxation and mobility, and offer their own powerful vision of how we can grapple with them. A must-read.’ – Thomas Piketty, author of Capital in the Twenty-First Century

‘A magnificent achievement, and the perfect book for our time. Banerjee and Duflo brilliantly illuminate the largest issues of the day, including immigration, trade, climate change, and inequality.’ – Cass R. Sunstein, author of How Change Happens

‘Banerjee and Duflo are masters of this terrain. They have digested hundreds of lab experiments, field experiments, statistical studies, and common observation to find regularities and irregularities that shape important patterns of economic behavior and need to be taken into account when we think about central issues of policy analysis. They do this with simple logic and plain English. Their book is as stimulating as it gets.’ – Robert Solow, Nobel Prize winner

About This Event:

How To Academy is excited to be partnering with The Conduit to bring you a new series of events on finding solutions to some of the world’s biggest problems, kicking off with former Vice President of the United States, Al Gore, on the climate crisis. The Conduit is a home for a diverse community of people passionate about driving social change, gathering together social entrepreneurs, investors, creatives, business leaders, policy-makers and civil society to tackle challenges in areas from gender empowerment to sustainability, via 200 events per year. For the first time, The Conduit is partnering with the How To Academy to bring high-profile supporters of their mission outside of their walls, with the hope of inspiring wider action. To learn more about joining The Conduit community, visit their website.