Nobel laureate and Yale Professor Robert Shiller predicts bubbles, busts and other financial crises years before anyone else. Find out how – and be the first to discover his most powerful idea yet.

Ideas move markets. Spread through society by word of mouth and social media, TV news and internet troll farms, the stories that we tell each other about the economy drive how we invest, spend, and save – and lead, ultimately, to financial crashes, mass unemployment, and wars.

But although the power of stories to affect economies seems obvious, no-one has yet produced a coherent theory for explaining the role they play – let alone a toolkit for harnessing such an understanding to prepare for future crises, recessions and depressions.

No-one, that is, until now. Yale Professor Robert Shiller is a Nobel Prize-winning economist and New York Times bestselling author with a bold new way to anticipate economic change. A prophet of the 2008 recession and a visionary heralded by Bloomberg as one of the most influential people in global finance, Professor Shiller joins How To Academy to present a bold new idea for making sense of the viral stories that transform our economies. Using a rich array of historical examples and data, he will argue for a new science of ‘narrative economics’ – and reveal startling insights into how this new field can help us to predict our collective future.

Fans of Daniel Kahneman and Nassim Nicholas Taleb ought not to miss this essential talk.

 

 

 

Book now

Venue

Portland Hall

4 - 12 Little Titchfield Street
London W1W 7BY

View map

Tube:
Oxford St (300m) - Central, Bakerloo, Victoria
Goodge St (400m) - Northern

Book now